KCAU History Projects Awards 5-8-21 story

KCAU highlights the 30th annual "Sioux City History Projects" exhibit

A reception and awards ceremony to honor the knowledge and creativity of 75 local fourth-grade students participating in the 30th annual Sioux City History Projects exhibition was held at the Sioux City Public Museum today. 

Projects displayed in the Museum have been evaluated according to their uniqueness, quality and how they relate to Sioux City history. Unique creations this year include the Floyd Bottoms Flood, the Thorpe Clock, Tonwantonga, Security National Bank, and the first McDonalds in Sioux City.


The exhibit were on display through March 13 through May 8 when students will be honored at a limited-capacity awards ceremony. For the first time this year, the public is invited to vote for their favorite history project in the new Visitors’ Choice Award category.


Crowd capacity for the awards ceremony was limited due to COVID-19. In addition to presenting blue ribbons to all the exhibit participants, Mayor Bob Scott presented special certificates in the following categories:

Sioux City Museum & Historical Association Award (Tie): Corn Palace – Joel Saquic Majano
                                                                                          Tonwantonga – Emma Dandurand

President’s Award: John Peirce Mansion – Aydon Meyer

Trustee’s Award: Sioux City Combination Bridge – Rayce Baum

Museum Staff Award (Tie): Sergeant Charles Floyd Poster – Jonathan Rodriguez
                                       Sioux City’s First McDonald’s – Nelitza Torres Ramos
                                       Thorpe and Company Clock – Sophia Nelson

Museum Director’s Award: Orpheum Theatre – Darwin Perez-Carreto

Visitor’s Choice Award: Sioux City Stock Yards – Helena Heying

After studying local history, 746 students created models and posters based on Sioux City’s past and present. The 13 participating elementary schools and two virtual classrooms with projects on display include: Bryant Elementary: Dawson Claeys, Aliyah DeWall, Eva Monk, Alexander Sattizahn, Sammie Sullivan, and Jorge Topete-Robles; Holy Cross Elementary: Landon Bodammer and Ceron Bridges; Irving Elementary: Miakol Kur, Wisly Lucas, Jayden Ngo, Juan Perez, Darwin Perez Carreto, Thaily Ramirez, Jonathan Rodriguez, Josue Sebastian, Nelitza Torres Ramos, Haylie Trujillo, and Alan Vizcarra; Leeds Virtual Learner: Joslyn Krause; Liberty Elementary: Pablo Alcaraz Santillan, Beau Coyle, Gabe Herman, Renca Oloday, Tavion Simmons, and Mia Trujillo; Loess Hills Elementary: Rayce Baum, Cassidy Henningfeld, Henry Lee, Breeya McCann, Junior Ramirez, Hector Retano, and Carly Treft; Loess Hills Virtual Learner: Amelia Gormally; Morningside Elementary: Eduardo Cancino-Rodas, Macie Fetterman, Naomi Johnson, Julianne Kranz, Isabella Nagel, Cambree Swearingen, Penny Wright, and Bentley Zuniga; Perry Creek Elementary: Liam Eckert, Jaelyn Ford, Helena Heying, Ava Mierau, Hunter Moos, Sophia Nelson, Sebastian Pratt, and Brody Randall; Riverside Elementary: Hayden Hansen, Santana Lopez, Derrick Rose, and Edgar Ruiz; Spalding Park Elementary: Aiden Chop, Damond Dooley, Marc Fuehrer, Daniela Gomez, Chloe Hayes, Kayden Ingram, Calen Perera, and Joel Saquic Majano; St. Paul Lutheran: Sophia Huff; Sunnyside Elementary: Bianca Anderson, Emma Dandurand, Morgan Kelly, Aydon Meyer, Eden Steensen, and Benjamin Worrell; Unity Elementary: Kailynn Barnes, Lucas Gibson, Santiago Jimenez-Gomez, Genesis Mazariegos, Paolo Morfin, and Yvette Topete-Ramirez.

 View the exhibit online:  

 2021 SCHP Video title screen  Virtual Tour cover History Projects 2021  
Watch a video of the History Projects or click through the Projects at your own pace here.  Virtual gallery tour  





Join Our Email List

Sioux City Public Museum

Tuesday - Saturday

10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.

1:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m.


(712) 279 6174


607 4th Street

Sioux City, IA 51101